Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
WJ doesn't sound good....
Have heard a noise once before I put the lift on but it was only there for a few moments. Now that the lift is on, it might be faint, but I can hear it all the time over 20 mph. I am not experienced with axles and stuff. Can do a bit of automotive but not that. Took the WJ to NP yesterday and it really didn't sound good. I don't think it is the drive lines, even without the drop kit I temporarily have on it. It only does it in acceleration and once in a while when coming to a full stop. Does anyone know what it could be? It is my DD, so I can't afford to have it go down. I still have a aftermarket warranty on the WJ, but would like to see if I can find out exactly what the problem is before I take it in and they try to tell me it's something else that isn't covered. Anybody help, PLEASE?:confused:
is it the same npoise you heard when you brought it to my house?
Yes. At higher speeds though its worse. I also can't tell if its the tires, but it also sounds like its not shifting all the way up to OD. I did it manually and it shifted, but it doesn't feel like it (i.e. Engine sounds like its really working hard to move the rig almost like a brake was on at the same time.

Also, is there a way to check a fan clutch to see if it's going bad? Mine has a rattle to it that to me suggests a failure in the near future, but I'm not sure.
Damien thought is was brakes to begin with. Perhaps doing a check of them to see if one is dragging or a caliper is seized or something.
Well its not the brakes. Did find out my clutch for the fan is going though. That will be fixed on Thursday hopefully. As for the noise during acceleration and at high speeds, still no clue. This problem is annoying. Also noticed my tires rub on the inside fender when in hard turns, now my white wall sides are already messed up.